The Fingerprints Make It Beautiful

Almost 2 months ago a beautiful baby boy was born. He has his momma’s pouty lips and his daddy’s heavy eyes and, hopefully (probably), all of both of their cool.

IMG_6565

Jamila, the new momma, has been a constant source of inspiration for me since I met her at the library where we both worked. She’s a great librarian who consistently made me want to step up my game, but more than that she’s an artist. A fantastic artist. And her refusal to let her art slide just because she had a 40/hr week job was what I really needed to see at the time.

Her art is beautiful, but she’s also put in the time to learn the business behind being a successful woman marketing herself and her work. Jamila talked me through opening my etsy store, gave me tips on packaging and presenting my work, and sent me encouraging e-mail after encouraging e-mail when I was freaking out over my first craft fair.

IMG_6580

This baby is so blessed to have her as a mom. To have both of his parents as his parents. I know he’ll be loved unconditionally, encouraged in all his pursuits, respected in the choices he makes and raised to be a concerned and aware citizen of the world. There’ll be mistakes and hard times, lessons learned and forgotten and learned again. But when you start in the world with such a sturdy foundation it’s easier to make the wonderful and beautiful contributions to the world that I know are in store for him.

This quilt, almost 2 months late, is, in the words of Cher Horowitz, a total Monet. While it may look good from a distance, up close it’s easy to see the mistakes and strains. But Jamila is an artist too, and I know that she knows that it’s the fingerprints that make art beautiful.

IMG_6578

One thought on “The Fingerprints Make It Beautiful

Leave a comment