Arranging the Pieces

Sarah and Eric met in an anatomy class; they were study partners. This led to a lot of risque jokes about how both of them managed to do so well in the class, but they persevered past the juvenile snickering and knowing winks.

Drafting Patterns

Pretty early in their relationship Sarah left California for the east coast where she spent ten months doing AmericCorps*NCCC, a national service program. This is where we met. Sarah was only 21 at the time, but she seemed SO. GROWN. UP. to me and I looked up to her for the 10 months we lived together and for the 8 years that have followed.

Dyed Fingers

Pieces of whale

She went back to California at the end of our program where she was reunited with her love. Sarah and Eric both graduated, found jobs, got married, quit their jobs, traveled the world together, and recently let us in on the fact that they’re expecting their first child this summer.
Hand Binding

Backing Detail

This baby is going to be blessed beyond belief by its parents and spoiled rotten by family and friends who live nearby and far away. It certainly doesn’t need anything from me, but I was there when Sarah and Eric got married; I affirmed their union. And in this small way I can affirm the baby too.

Finished!

2 thoughts on “Arranging the Pieces

    • Thank you! I’m just learning how to paper piece, so this was an exercise in patience and seam ripping. It was totally worth it though, I’m really pleased with how it came out.

Leave a comment