Birds of a Feather

Confession: I’ve never sewn a zipper before.

Shocking, I know, but two gift-giving events in quick succession (a friend’s birthday followed by the teen worker at RealJob’s high school graduation) sent me on the search for a quick but classy DIY and this exceedingly clear tutorial from Skirt as Top  gave me the inspiration to whip up two avian inspired clutches.

Folded blue clutchI’ve been experimenting with paper piecing, as you saw a few weeks ago, and I absolutely loved the tangram swan from Sarah and Eric’s baby quilt. Here the swan matches the lining, with an interior pocket made out of the same blue fabric as the main body of the clutch.

Lining, blue clutch

Peacock clutchI found an insane pair of peacock pants during my last trip to the thrift store. They didn’t fit, and were in fact so small I will never have any hope whatsoever of fitting into them, but I couldn’t pass them up. The fabric was just too good. I think this bag proves I made the right call.

Swan detail, blue clutch and peacock clutch

Folded clutches

Swan and zipper details

Leave a comment